Grants & Awards

Student Poster Awards

Each year at the annual conference, three posters authored by students are chosen for the Student Poster Award.
View the poster winners from previous years.


Research Training Grant

Due May 1, 2016 for funding to begin early September 2016.

The Education and Training Committee and the Committee to Promote Student Interests are pleased to announce that SPR will once again provide Research Fellowship Training Awards. The award will allow students or postdocs to obtain mentorship/training in psychophysiological assessment/analysis with experts in the field, which they could not get at their home institution. This could involve travel to a remote site or travel expenses for a remote mentor to visit the applicant’s lab. Each applicant may include a budget of up to $5,000.00 U.S. (although smaller budgeted applications are encouraged and would allow for more applications to be funded). Up to $500 of these funds can be used to defray SPR conference travel costs. Applications are short (3-5 pages) but require that applicants, mentors and proposed training sponsors also submit biosketches.

Recipients will be announced at the Saturday Business Luncheon at the SPR annual meeting in Minneapolis. The deadline for applications will be May 1, 2016. Award notices will be sent via email beginning June 1, 2016. If additional funds are available after June 1, 2016, a second application announcement will be made. Award notices will be sent within one month of this second announcement. Awardees will also be recognized at the Saturday Business Luncheon during the annual SPR meeting.

Eligibility: Preference for the award will be given to applicants, their current mentors and their proposed training sponsors who are active members of SPR, or who have a history of affiliation with SPR (e.g., previous membership, attendance at previous SPR meetings). However, all students or postdocs interested in obtaining mentorship/training in psychophysiology are encouraged to apply.

2015 Recipients:

  • Johannes Rodrigues, University of Würzburg, Germany
  • Akina Umemoto, University of Victoria, Canada
  • Xiao Yang, Virginia Tech, USA

Dr. Jason Moser
Michigan State University, Department of Psychology
110B Psychology Building, East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 355-2159


Student Travel Fund Awards

SPR has allocated funds for 30 travel awards. Fifteen of these are specifically reserved for award winners within North America, who will receive $500 USD to assist with their travel accommodations while attending the SPR Annual Meeting. The other 15 awards are reserved for non-North American members who will receive $1000 USD.

To be eligible, student members must:

  1. Reside outside a 500-mile radius from the annual meeting;
  2. Be the first author on a poster or paper accepted for presentation at the annual meeting;
  3. Be up to date with membership dues, or have applied for new membership status;
  4. Still have pre-doctoral status (i.e., must not have received their PhD by the time of the meeting)
  5. In addition, student members with travel funds available from the laboratory in which they work are not eligible.

It is the intention of the SPR Board of Directors and the Committee to Promote Student Interests that student travel awards be used to facilitate attendance at the SPR annual meeting (i.e., the conference).

Thus, except under very unusual circumstances, award recipients are expected to be present for the duration of the conference, not to simply show up to receive their award and/or only for their poster presentation.

To this end, applicants should consider the following additional requirements when submitting their conference abstracts:

  1. Awardees must pick up their checks on the first day of the conference, before the close of registration. Any awards not picked up by that time will be forfeited, unless prior arrangements have been made with SPR management.
  2. Awardees’ faculty advisors will be notified of their students’ awards and will be expected to play a role in ensuring their students attend events on the conference program beyond their own poster presentation.
  3. Awardees will be expected to produce a brief report, to be submitted to the Chair of the Committee to Promote Student Interests, highlighting their conference experiences and how the travel award facilitated their professional development.

When submitting presentations for the conference, students should apply for the Student Travel Award.

A lottery among these student members will be conducted, and eligibility will be verified with advisors. View the award recipients from previous years.

Visit our Membership page for more information!

The Society also gives two awards for significant early career and distinguished contributions to psychophysiology:


Awards for Distinguished Early Career Contributions to Psychophysiology

The Early Career Award is given to a member of SPR who has made noteworthy contributions to the field of psychophysiology. The period of eligibility is 8 years following completion of doctoral training. Nominations are sought annually from SPR members.
View the winners from previous years.

Awards for Distinguished Contributions to Psychophysiology

The Award for Distinguished Contributions to Psychophysiology is the highest honour given by the Society for Psychophysiological Research. It is given to an individual to recognize a sustained and distinguished contribution to Psychophysiology. It is awarded by the Senior Award Committee which consists of the Past President, the President and the President-Elect. Nominations for the award can be made by members of the Society and submitted to the President. This committee determines each year whether and to whom any such awards shall be made.
View the winners from previous years.